Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Western Australian Sailing Awards

The Australian Sailing Awards have been the premier off-water celebration for sailing in Australia for many decades. The first Australian Yachtsman of the Year Award was presented in 1962 to Jock Sturrock, four-time Olympic representative, Olympic bronze medallist and skipper of the America's Cup challenger 'Gretel'.

Winners of the State Awards go on to be nominees for the National Australian Sailing Awards each year.

The Australian Sailing Awards are broken down in to the following categories:

Individual Award Categories

  • Female Sailor of the Year
  • Male Sailor of the Year
  • Para Sailor of the Year
  • Youth Sailor of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Coach of the Year

Club Award Categories

  • Club of the Year – Category A
  • Club of the Year – Category B
  • Instructor of the Year
  • Official of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year

Sport Award Categories

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • SheSails Award
  • Sport Professional Award
  • Sport Promotion Award
  • Sustainability Award


Click here to see the 2023 finalists.