Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Match Racing

Match Racing

Australian Sailing manages a suite of Match Racing Championships in partnership with a host club as the Organising Authority (OA).  

There are four disciplines to match racing in Australia; they are Open, Women, Youth and School Championships held annually around the country during the periods of July – September each year.

For clubs wishing to host Australian Match Racing Championships an Expression of Interest (EOI) is sent out for clubs to respond via the EOI each year for the following year.  Condition of Conduct (CoC) is provided to each club who has been awarded the regatta which outlines the requirements of  the regatta.

Australian Sailing Sanctioned events

Aust. Match Racing Championships – Open
Aust. Match Racing Championships - Women
Aust. Match Racing Championships – Youth
Aust. Match Racing Championships – Schools

World Sailing Match Racing Championships – Selection Criteria

To represent Australian at the World Sailing Match Racing Championships, the skipper is required to compete at the Championships for the Open and Women. The winner of the Australian Match Racing Championships will be nominated by Australian Sailing to receive an invite from World Sailing.

Clubs hosting Match Racing events:

Cruising Yacht Club of Australia
Newcastle Cruising Yacht Club
Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club
Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron

Darwin Sailing Club

Mooloolaba Yacht Club
Royal Queensland Yacht Squadron
Southport Yacht Club

Cruising Yacht Club of South Australia

Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania

Sandringham Yacht Club

Fremantle Sailing Club
Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club
Royal Perth Yacht Club
South of Perth Yacht Club
Swan River Sailing

For all enquiries relating to hosting events or World Sailing grading forms, please contact Emma Humphries


Related Links

AUS Match Racing calendar

World Sailing Match Racing grading forms

World Sailing Match Racing Rankings

Match Racing Results