Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

New South Wales & Australian Capital Territory Awards


The Australian Sailing Awards have been the premier off-water celebration for sailing in Australia for many decades. The first Australian Yachtsman of the Year Award was presented in 1962 to Jock Sturrock, four-time Olympic representative, Olympic bronze medallist and skipper of the America's Cup challenger 'Gretel'.

Winners of the State Awards go on to be nominees for the National Australian Sailing Awards each year.

The Australian Sailing Awards are broken down in to the following categories:

Individual Award Categories

  • Female Sailor of the Year
  • Male Sailor of the Year
  • Para Sailor of the Year
  • Youth Sailor of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Coach of the Year

Club Award Categories

  • Club of the Year – Category A
  • Club of the Year – Category B
  • Instructor of the Year
  • Official of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year

Sport Award Categories

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • SheSails Award
  • Sport Professional Award
  • Sport Promotion Award
  • Sustainability Award


Click here to see the 2023 finalists. 


Previous winners are listed below:

Award 2022 2021 2020 2019
Female Sailor of the Year Nina Curtis Lisa Darmanin Lisa Darmanin Annie Wilmot & Natasha Bryant
Male Sailor of the Year Tom Slingsby OAM Tom Slingsby OAM Iain Murray Martin Hill
Para Sailor of the Year Jason Elwes Lachlan Clear   Sarah Plunkett
Offshore Sailor of the Year Lisa Blair Mattthew Donald & Chris Townsend Matt Allen AM Matt Allen AM
Youth Sailor of the Year Evie Saunders Joel Beashel & Marshall Day Daniel Links Daniel Links
Club of the Year Newcastle Cruising Yacht Club Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club Double Bay Sailing Club Newcastle Cruising Yacht Club
Volunteer of the Year John Byrne Max Gundy    Gaye Rosen & Martin Gill
Official of the Year Hugh Leicester Andrew Buchan Ian Kingsford-Smith Richard Slater
Instructor of the Year Freya Slater Andrew Omotosho Samantha Parker Niall Powers
Coach of the Year Carolijn Brouwer Michael Blackburn Michael Blackburn Michael Fltecher
Sports Professional of the Year - Justine Kirkjian Jack Buchan Tom Spithill
Sports Promotion Award Melvyn Steiner Mark Rothfield & Paul O'Rourke CYCA Invictus Games Regatta
Sustainability Award AUS SailGP Team Mitch Burns    
SheSails Award Wendy Watson Karyn Gojnich Clare Alexander Jan Howard & Mary Holley
Lifetime Achievement Award David Pescud Sandra Donovan Terry Peek Tim Cox