LEFT Mike Jarvin RIGHT Belinda Pavey, Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight with medal recipient Chris Mitchell

Boat designer for the disabled and industry mentor become 2017 Maritime Medal Recipients

The 2017 Maritime Medal for selfless, outstanding and sustained contributions to the sector has been awarded to two people.

The winners are a designer whose boat design for the disabled is used in 32 countries and the other is an industry advocate for more than a quarter of a century.

Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Roads, Maritime and Transport Kevin Anderson MP said for 20 years Chris Mitchell has been a key person in advancing disabled accessibility through vessel design, infrastructure and advocacy.

“Chris is an inspiration. He volunteers countless hours assisting disabled people to sail at various events and places around the Shoalhaven.

“His commitment to universal maritime design for the disabled is second to none. Because of Chris’s work, people now have the ability to sail in a dignified manner and in vessels designed to meet their needs. (Chris is founder of Hansa Sailng Systems. 3000 Hansa sail craft have been sold in 32 countries. Hansa is an internationally recognised sailing class.)

“Chris is a most worthy recipient of the Maritime Medal and I am proud to see he has been recognised today,” Mr Anderson said.

The second recipient, Mike Jarvin, has spent decades selflessly promoting positive outcomes for the maritime community.

“Mike is so well known by boaties – he is often called Mr Everywhere Man.

“Mike is a mentor of maritime start-ups and provides support, advice and networking to bring the industry together and promote their success.

“Having a longstanding and successful career in the industry, he is knowledgeable across all sectors, including recreational, commercial and maritime property activities,” Mr Anderson concluded.

Via Michael Hansen | Kevin Anderson MP

Posted in Awards, New South Wales, News, Sailability